Meeting an Author: Melanie McGrath :)’

Hi, everyone this is going to be a post about meeting the author I contacted and it was really nice, I thoroughly enjoyed the book event yesterday.

The author that I met, was Melanie McGrath. She’s the one I’ve been researching and writing about for this class magazine project in college. I managed to get more information from her, and she – was kind enough to share which I wrote most of them down, she also read an extract from her book ”Hopping” and it was good. 🙂

She also shared the background, and inspiration for one of her other books ”Silvertown” as well as ”Hopping”  they were inspired from some of her family background, the way they both sounded – was immensely insightful, informative and interesting.

Yes, 3 I’s lol

She talked in depth about what ”Hopping/Hot-Picking” was and because they are historical events there was the mention of Henry 6th and World War 2.

I literally took down as many notes, as I possibly could.

There was also a Q and A time, where people asked questions and she answered.

Also, people gave their insight, and knowledge of certain aspects, so it was like constantly learning something new.

Someone brought in a picture of them, hot picking, so it was nice to visualise that and it was a nice picture.

I learnt that ”Hopping” originates from the word ”To Climb”

I also had some biscuits, and managed to take a few pictures with her, which was rather lovely.

I didn’t go by myself though.

Overall, it was an enjoyable experience.

P.S. She remembered me, from being in contact with her, and knew I was Elizabeth lol :)’
She also said that I should let her know, how the project goes, as I have her e-mail now.

Leave a Reply

